- An entertaining 3 minute play through video can be found here.
- A play through of an older Camelot prototype can be found here.
- The Comprehensive Rulebook (PDF, Updated 5/3/20)
- Rules Variants (PDF)
- Crazier Eights: Camelot Card Clarifications
- Crazier Eights: Avalon Card Clarifications
1. How do you discard additional cards?
Additional cards are discarded one at a time. When discarding a card it must always have the same rank or color as the top card of the discard pile unless it’s an eight.
2. What happens if an eight is on top of the discard pile, but wasn’t the last card discarded?
It’s just an eight with a color. For example, the first card put into the discard pile before the game begins could be an eight. The next card discarded has to have the eight’s color, or be another eight.
3. What if two players draw cards from one ability?
If multiple players would draw cards from the same ability, then each player draws cards going clockwise.
4. Can you ask how many cards are in a player’s hand?
Yes, and they have to be honest. You may also count the number of cards in a player’s hand or in the draw pile at any time.
5. Can you name any color you want?
No. Named colors must be blue, green, red, or purple. e.g., you can’t name pink.
6. If a card ability puts an asset into play, may I still play another asset?
You may only play one card from your hand during your turn as a main phase action. Restrictions regarding playing one card per turn may be ignored when you play an event or asset from an ability.
7. Do I have to use card abilities?
Yes. If a card or ability says to do something, then you have to try to do it unless it says you may do it. For example, Zeus says, “At the end of each player’s turn, put any one asset controlled by a player on the bottom of the draw pile.” If Zeus is the only asset in play on the table at the end of your turn, then he removes himself.
8. What does it mean to gain control of an asset?
You take the asset from another player, and you now control it. Put it in front of you. You now make choices for it, and you use the abilities. It is written for it to be read by the player who controls it.
9. What happens if a card ability does nothing?
You may play cards for an effect, even if the ability has no effect. For example, you may play Death, which destroys any one asset that’s in play on the table, even if there are no assets in play on the table.
10. What happens if you don’t play or discard the card chosen for Destiny?
Destiny says, “Look at any one player’s hand and choose a card from it. The opponent must play or discard that card during their next turn if able.” If the opponent can’t do either, then Destiny’s ability does nothing. However, the opponent can’t use any optional abilities or make a decision that would make it impossible to follow Destiny’s instructions. If a player breaks the rules when Destiny is played against them, they lose the game unless other players allow them to re-do their turn.
11. What is a copy of an ability?
Hecate can copy events you play from your hand. It is as though you played the event twice. Resolve one before the other one is used.
12. What does “opponents control X assets” refer to?
Opponents collectively control the assets. If one opponent controls two assets, and another opponent controls one asset, then your opponents control three assets total.
13. What happens if you forget to do something?
If a card ability should have an effect on the game but players forgot and did other things, then it is too late with one exception. The one exception is when a player forgot to a draw card during the draw phase – They should still draw the card later if they forgot.
14. Who controls an asset that an ability puts into play on the table?
If an asset or event puts an asset into play on the table, then it is controlled by the player who controls the asset or played the event. For example, the player who controls Princess Parizade can’t put the asset into play on the table under another player’s control.
15. What cards do you control?
You control the asset cards that you have in play on the table. You don’t control cards that are in your hand.
16. What if you can’t discard?
Discarding is optional.
17. Can you protect yourself from losing the game at the end of your turn?
Yes, and you can kill yourself at the end of your turn from losing the game abilities.
For example, Temple of Doom can cause opponents to lose the game. If you get a fifth asset at the end of your turn before it takes effect, then you lose the game.
18. Can you win before the end of your turn?
Yes, the end of your turn is a phase, and you can win before that phase. e.g., you can win with zero cards in your hand before you lose to Temple of Doom.
19. Can you win the game during a card ability before it resolves?
No, you can only win before a card ability resolves, or after a card ability resolves.
20. Can you prevent something from being destroyed more than once during a turn?
Usually, yes. For example, Sir Lancelot is capable of preventing an asset from being destroyed every single time one or more assets would be destroyed.
21. Can I play a card that has the wrong color?
Yes. You can play a card as an asset or event regardless of the color.
22. Can you use an asset right away?
You can usually use an asset’s ability right away or at the end of your turn when you get the asset. One exception is beginning of turn abilities. You also can’t play an asset’s ability at the end of your turn when you got the asset at the end of your turn. End of turn abilities all happen at once, and you can’t discard cards at the end of your turn.
23. Do beginning of turn abilities happen before you draw a card?
24. Can you discard cards at the end of your turn?
No, only during your main phase.
25. Can you ever lose additional discards?
Yes. For example, if you destroy all assets when Stream of Life or Oasis is in play, you will lose your additional discard. However, you can discard before you play a card from your hand to avoid this situation.
26. Can you ever discard cards during an opponent’s turn?
27. Are assets face up or face down?
Assets that are controlled by a player are face up.
28. What does “choose X assets” or “choose X players” refer to?
Some card abilities require you to choose a certain number of assets or players. They must be different assets or players. For example, “Choose up to three players. They each draw 2 cards” refers to up to three different players.
29. Do you only use “when it comes into play” asset abilities once?
Yes. For example, Camel says, “When Camel comes into play on the table, you may discard an additional card this turn.” The condition that makes the ability occur is coming into play on the table, which usually only happens when you first play the card.
30. When you play an event card, where does it go before the ability resolves?
First you reveal it, and set it aside. It’s in a limbo. It’s no longer in your hand, on the table, or in the discard pile.
31. When you look at or reveal cards with a card ability, where do they go before the ability completely resolves?
Set the cards aside. They are in a limbo. They’re no longer in the draw pile, in your hand, on the table, or in the discard pile. For example, Wizardry is an event that says, “Reveal the top four cards of the draw pile. You may play any one revealed event card. Then put the rest of the cards on the bottom of the discard pile. You may discard an additional card this turn.” The four cards you reveal are set aside before you play one of them. They are then put on the bottom of the discard pile.
Specific Card Questions
32. What happens when Ja’far plays the ability of a split card?
You have to choose which side’s ability you want to play.
33. Can Crystal Palace cause you to draw negative cards?
34. Can you exchange cards with someone who has King Khusrau II?
No, exchanging control requires each player to gain control of the other’s asset.
35. Can you use Mirror Universe when you control zero assets?
Yes. The opponent will gain control of all of your assets (zero) and you simultaneously gain control all of the opponent’s assets. You may also play Mirror Universe on an opponent who controls zero assets.
36. If you gain control of Camelot with Morgause, can you skip your draw?
Yes, Camelot can change Morgause’s ability while you use her ability.
37. Can Sir Lancelot protect himself from being destroyed?
38. Does Sword in the Stone work with multicolored assets?
Yes. Sword in the Stone is an asset that says, “At the end of your turn, if all the assets you control are red, you may destroy any one asset that’s in play on the table.” If you control a red-blue asset, Sword in the Stone will still function. It will not function if an asset you control has no red color.
A more comprehensive take on the rules can be found in the comprehensive rule book. (updated 8/17/18)